ECMAScript Language Specification

The ECMAScript Language Specification is the official, authoritative specification of the JavaScript programming language. ECMAScript 6 language specification was published in June 2015 and followed the ECMAScript 5 language specification.

This ECMAScript version goes beyond the previous version by specifying features like:

  • Classes & Inheritance
  • Modules — import and export
  • Promises
  • Block-scoped variables —- let and const
  • Template Literals
  • Object destruction
  • Generator functions
  • Map and Set data structures

We have not (yet) cross-referenced this language specification with our misconceptions. To find misconception by language specification section, pick one of the cross-referenced specifications.

Stay up-to-date

Follow us on  twitter to hear about new misconceptions.