ECMAScript Language Specification

The ECMAScript Language Specification is the official, authoritative specification of the JavaScript programming language. ECMAScript 8 language specification was published in June 2017 and followed the ECMAScript 7 language specification.

This ECMAScript version goes beyond the previous version by specifying features like:

  • Asynchronous functions with the keyword async and await
  • The method Object.entries
  • String padding functions

We have not (yet) cross-referenced this language specification with our misconceptions. To find misconception by language specification section, pick one of the cross-referenced specifications.

Stay up-to-date

Follow us on  twitter to hear about new misconceptions.